Woven Apple

The first few strokes were intended to start a portrait of a friend, but I could tell that my concentration wasn’t going to keep up with the intention. So the lady in the bamboo dress emerged. The cross-hatched shading on the apple made it look woven to me, so I went with the fibrous theme. I had unknowingly left a streak of blood on the page from a cut on my finger, thus the falling leaf filler with colored trailings. It is a simple image, but I can imagine it getting more interesting with color.

Leave a Reply

